Set of Three Easton Press Wizard of Oz Books


Author: L. Frank Baum

Illustrator: John R. Neill

BAUM, L[yman] Frank. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz. With Pictures by W[illiam] W[allace] Denslow. The Marvelous Land of Oz. Pictured by John R[ea] Neill. Ozma of Oz. Illustrated by John R[ea] Neill. [Norwalk, CT: Easton Press, 1989]. 8vo, Vol 1: 268pp. Vol 2: 292pp. Vol 3: 275pp. Green, navy and red leatherette embossed and pictorially stamped in gold, each with silk bookmark bound-in; a.e.g. Moiré endpapers; color and b&w illustrations throughout. A set of fine copies, housed in original shipping box (some wear), being a set addressed to Books of Wonder upon publication in October 1989.

First printing of these facsimile editions, bound in what Easton Press calls “genuine leather” but Is more accurately leatherette or pressed leather.  The first three novels in L. Frank Baum’s beloved Oz series produced by The Easton Press from the plates/film used to create the Books of Wonder Classics editions that Books of Wonder co-published with William Morrow and Company. These facsimile editions of the novels feature all of Denslow and Neill’s original illustrations (the plates and text of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz are based on the second state plates and text) as well as the original text of the novels and afterwords by Peter Glassman.