Freedom to Read!

$1,350.00 $2,250.00

Artist: Maurice Sendak


A limited edition lithograph created by the American Bookseller's Association's Legal Defense Fund to support their Freedom to Read! campaign in 1991. The image for the print was created by Maurice Sendak and features the names of a number of books that have been banned over the years. There were two limited edition runs of this print produced, one limited to 275 and signed only by Maurice Sendak, and the other limited to 90 copies and signed by 40 famous writers, performers, and publishers. This print is #70/90 and, in addition to Sendak, features the signatures of such luminaries as Jeffrey Archer, Jeff Blum, Malcolm Boyd, Leo Buscaglia, Mary Higgins Clark, Charles S. Dutton, Harlan Ellison, Harrison Ford, Whoopi Goldberg, Jeff Goldblum, Mickey Hart, Beth Henley, Mariette Hartley, Deborah Nourse Lattimore, Melissa Mathison, Epatha Merkerson, Barry Moser, Dan Rather, John Rechy, John Sayles, Jon Scieszka, Carolyn See, Maurice Sendak, Neil Simon, Lane Smith, Gloria Steinem, Garry Trudeau, Chris Van Allsburg, David Weisner, Robin Williams, Audrey Wood, and more!