Skip to main content

Naming Ceremony

$18.99
Add to Wishlist

Author: Seina Wedlick

Illustrator: Jenin Mohammed

A sweet sibling story all about making family traditions your own—perfect for fans of Alma and How She Got Her Name and Welcome to the Party

Today’s the day! It’s Baby Sister’s naming ceremony, and big sister Amira could not be more excited. She has the perfect name picked out . . . or, at least, she hopes it’s the perfect name.

One by one, friends and family arrive. As Amira greets them, she asks what name they have brought to give to Baby Sister. Each is more beautiful than the last—ShakiraAkahanaUhwe. And each has its own special meaning—thankfulred flowermoonlight. Amira knows that Baby Sister will love these names. But will she love the name Amira has chosen? Is it special enough?

A story about rich traditions and the unique bond between sisters, Naming Ceremony celebrates multigenerational family and Black joy.