Gloriana, Presente: A First Day of School Story

$18.99
Personalized

Author: Alyssa Reynoso-Morris

Signed!

Illustrator: Doris M Rodríguez-Graber

*Order by Thursday, July 18th to Guarantee Your Signed & Personalized Copies!*

Enter the classroom in this joyful story of growth that will help new students find their voice. With Spanish words throughout the text, this radiant picture book is perfect for fans of Mango, Abuela, and Me.
 
On the first day of elementary school, Abuela soothes Gloriana’s nerves by telling her stories from their family home in la República Dominicana. But as soon as Gloriana enters the classroom, the tropical scenery crumbles and la música is replaced with English phrases she does not understand. When other kids approach her to play at recess, she freezes, uncertain about how to exist between her two homes, or how to make new friends between her two languages. Abuela recognizes echoes of her own immigration journey on this challenging day at school, and she gently guides Gloriana towards newfound confidence. This beautifully painted, imaginative picture book celebrates the magic of existing in-between, and the transformative power of self-soothing to build confidence.

An essential read for fans of The Queen of Kindergarten.