The Civil War of Amos Abernathy

$9.99

Author: Michael Leali

"An irresistible debut filled with heart and humor.”—Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author

Perfect for fans of Alex Gino and Julie Murphy, this part-epistolary middle grade debut follows one boy’s attempt to find himself in the history he loves.

Amos Abernathy has been a historical reenactor nearly all his life. But when a cute new volunteer arrives at his Living History Park, Amos finds himself wondering if there’s something missing from history. Someone like the two of them.

Amos is sure there must have been LGBTQ+ people in nineteenth-century Illinois. His search turns up Albert D. J. Cashier, a Union soldier who might have identified as a trans man if he’d lived today. Soon Amos starts confiding in this newfound friend by writing letters in his journal—and hatches a plan to share Albert’s story with his divided twenty-first-century town. It may be an uphill battle, but it’s one that Amos is ready to fight.

Told in an earnest, hilarious voice, this love letter to history, first crushes, and queer community will delight fans of The Best at It by Maulik Pancholy or Ivy Aberdeen’s Letter to the World by Ashley Herring Blake.