Two Tribes

$24.99
Personalized

Author: Emily Bowen Cohen

Signed!

Illustrator: Emily Bowen Cohen

*Signed and Personalized Copies!*

Heartdrum’s first graphic novel, by Muscogee-Jewish writer and artist Emily Bowen Cohen, is perfect for fans of American Born Chinese. Inspired by details from the author's life, this fictional coming-of-age story for middle graders follows Mia, a girl whose father is a member of the Muscogee Nation in Oklahoma and whose mother is Jewish and lives in Los Angeles.

In her poignant debut graphic novel inspired by her own life, Emily Bowen Cohen embraces the complexity, meaning, and deep love that comes from being part of two vibrant tribes.

Mia is still getting used to living with her mom and stepfather, and to the new role their Jewish identity plays in their home. Feeling out of place at home and at her Jewish day school, Mia finds herself thinking more and more about her Muscogee father, who lives with his new family in Oklahoma. Her mother doesn’t want to talk about him, but Mia can’t help but feel like she’s missing a part of herself without him in her life.

Soon, Mia makes a plan to use the gifts from her bat mitzvah to take a bus to Oklahoma — without telling her mom — to visit her dad and find the connection to her Muscogee side she knows is just as important as her Jewish side.