If These Wings Could Fly

$17.99
Add to Wishlist

Author: Kyrie McCauley

Kyrie McCauley’s stunning YA contemporary debut with a touch of magical realism is a beautiful and powerful story about the haunting specter of domestic violence and the rebellious forces of sisterhood and first love. Perfect for fans of Laura Ruby, Laurie Halse Anderson, and Mindy McGinnis.
Tens of thousands of crows invading Auburn, Pennsylvania, is a problem for everyone in town except seventeen-year-old Leighton Barnes. Residents complain about the nuisance, the strangeness of the birds. But for Leighton, it’s no stranger than her house, which inexplicably repairs itself every time her father loses his temper and breaks things. No stranger than growing up in a town full of people who look the other way.

Leighton doesn’t have time for the crows, or for her classmate, Liam, even if he is funny, kind, and entirely too charming. It’s her senior year, and acceptance to her dream college is finally within reach. But grabbing that lifeline means abandoning her sisters. Which is a choice she’s not ready to face.

With her father’s rage worsening and the town in chaos over the crows, Leighton allows herself a chance at happiness with Liam, even though falling in love feels like a revolutionary act. Balancing school, dating, and survival under the shadow of sixty thousand feathered wings starts to feel almost comfortable, but Leighton knows that this fragile equilibrium can only last so long before it shatters.