On This Unworthy Scaffold

For a Muse of Fire

$17.99

On This Unworthy Scaffold will be available soon.
Estimated Ship Date is March 16, 2021

Author: Heidi Heilig

Estimated Ship Date: March 16, 2021

The final book in Heidi Heilig’s acclaimed Shadow Players trilogy. Jetta is in the center of a war. With her magical power, she could save everyone, save her country . . . or she could destroy it all. Heidi Heilig blends traditional storytelling with ephemera for a lush, page-turning commercial fantasy for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Leigh Bardugo.

Jetta’s home is spiraling into civil war. Le Trépas—the deadly necromancer—has used his blood magic to wrest control of the country, and Jetta has been without treatment for her malheur for weeks. Meanwhile, Jetta’s love interest, brother, and friend are intent on infiltrating the palace to stop the Boy King and find Le Trépas to put an end to the unleashed chaos.

The sweeping conclusion to Heidi Heilig’s ambitious trilogy takes us to new continents, introduces us to new gods, flings us into the middle of palace riots and political intrigue, and asks searching questions about power and corruption. As in the first two books, the story is partly told in ephemera, including original songs, myths, play scripts, and various forms of communication. The satisfying finale to an epic fantasy for readers who love Claire Legrand’s Furyborn, Laini Taylor’s Strange the Dreamer, and N. K. Jemisin’s The Fifth Season.