The Original Adventure Series: Complete Set

The Original Adventure Series

$29.99 $72.00

Author: Enid Blyton

Definitely among Blyton's most beloved series are The Adventure Series books. These 8 novels about two young sets of siblings, Philip and Dinah Mannering and Jack and Lucy-Ann Trent — along with Jack's parrot, Kiki — are filled with excitement, adventures, and surprises. Featuring art from the original 1940s and 50s dust jackets, these 8 volumes comprise the complete set!

This Books of Wonder collected set includes:

Book 1: The Island of Adventure
Philip meets Jack and Lucy-Ann and Jack's pet bird Kiki, and after they sneak home with him, they move in with Philip, his sister Dinah and their Aunt Polly and Uncle Jocelyn at an ancient mansion at the coast. Strange lights on the nearby mysterious island leads to the four's first adventure inside an abandoned copper mine and a network of secret undersea tunnels.

Book 2: The Castle of Adventure
Philip and Dinah's mother takes the four on a summer adventure to a valley in the countryside overlooked by an ominous abandoned castle. When the four go looking for eagles, they find that the castle isn't as abandoned as they were led to believe.

Book 3: The Valley of Adventure
When Bill buys a plane, he decides to take the four children for a holiday, but events at the airport lead to the four getting into the wrong plane! When the plane lands they find themselves in an unfamiliar valley scarred by war.

Book 4: The Sea of Adventure
Bill takes the foursome on a trip to a Scottish island to help them recover from measles. But amongst the islands, they stumble upon a sinister plot; Bill disappears, and the children are left alone to find out where he is, what is going on and how they will escape.

Book 5: The Mountain of Adventure
Hoping for a quiet holiday for once, the children, Kiki, Mrs. Mannering and Bill go to a mountain farm in Wales for some wandering. But on the search for the Vale of Butterflies, the children get lost and find themselves near a mysterious mountain. Ominous rumblings from the ground, a pack of wolves roaming the area, a black fugitive, and Philip's disappearance are but a few of the mysteries the children have to unravel.

Book 6: The Ship of Adventure
All the children are aboard for a quiet cruise among the Greek islands. But when Micky, Philp's new monkey, breaks his birthday present, all the children are plunged into an exciting quest to find the lost treasure of the Andra with some ruthless villains hot on their trail.

Book 7: The Circus of Adventure
Who is Gustavus Barmilevo, a strange and pompous boy that Bill invited over for the holidays? The children soon discover that he is a prince, named Aloysius Gramondie, and has enemies on his trail.

Book 8: The River of Adventure
Recovering from a very bad flu, the four children and their family make a river trip in the Middle East. But there is another reason for this choice of destination: Bill has been asked to watch a crook named Raya Uma. The children soon find another adventure revolving around a magnificent buried city filled with treasure beyond imagination.

"The best way to treat obstacles is to use them as stepping-stones.
Laugh at them, tread on them, and let them
lead you to something better."

Enid Blyton is one of the best-loved children's authors with over 700 titles published. Aged 27, Enid married Hugh Pollock and moved to London. They had two children, and soon afterwards Enid wrote her first novel, The Adventures of the Wishing-Chair. Throughout the 40s and 50s, Enid wrote books at a colossal pace: adventure stories, mysteries, magical stories, farming stories, stories for younger children, and best-selling series like Malory Towers and Amelia Jane. Her stories remain timeless classics, adored throughout the world.