Becoming a Queen

$19.99
Personalized

Author: Dan Clay

Signed!

A vibrant and emotional YA debut about a boy who turns toward love, self-acceptance, and the power of drag to overcome grief when the unthinkable happens—perfect for fans of Jandy Nelson and Julie Murphy.

Fresh on the heels of a high school breakup, Mark Davis has given up on love. He’s too much for suburban Annondale—too weird and too feminine for the only other gay guy at school. Thankfully, his big brother, Eric, is always there to stop Mark from spiraling into self-loathing.

But as things start looking up for Mark—in the form of Ezra Ambrose—he sees signs that his wise older brother might have problems of his own. When the source of Mark’s strength suddenly becomes the source of his greatest pain, the path back to happiness seems impossible. Desperate for a way out, to briefly live a different life, Mark slips into a dress. His sequined escape becomes an unexpected outlet—a path to authentic connection and an opportunity to see others as fully as he wants to be seen.

Beautifully written, heart-wrenching, and ultimately uplifting, Dan Clay’s debut novel is a stunning story about love, loss, and the ineffable power of a purple princess dress.

*IMPORTANT*

Ordering a personalized book can result in a 5-6-week delay depending on the authors’ schedule. Shipping speeds take effect once your order has shipped, it does not include processing time. If you have any questions about a timeline for a book, please contact our customer service team before placing an order.