Whale Talk

$9.99 $2.00
Add to Wishlist

Author: Chris Crutcher

A repackaged paperback edition of Chris Crutcher’s controversial and often challenged novel, which the Washington Post called “Truly exceptional.” A group of outcasts forges its own path and forms unexpectedly strong friendships as they take on an unfair system in their high school. This hard-hitting novel is for fans of John Corey Whaley and Marieke Nijkamp. Features a new afterword by Chris Crutcher.

T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees members of the wrestling team threatening a nice, cognitively disabled underclassman, T.J. decides he’s had enough. He sets out to form a school swim team, recruiting some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. These unlikely athletes find themselves exchanging secrets and revealing unexpected glimpses of their lives. As they move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward.

A fresh cover and exclusive backmatter provide a great opportunity to introduce readers to the book Kirkus called “compulsively readable.” Fans of Andrew Smith and Matt de la Peña will enjoy Crutcher’s dry wit and unflinchingly honest narrative.

Includes an excerpt of Crutcher’s latest novel Losers Bracket and exclusive extras.