Wishtree

<< Previous in New & Classic Next in New & Classic >>

Price: $17.99
Manufacturer Part No: 9781250043221
Format: Hardcover
Date of Publication: September 2017

Holiday staff pick from Web Manager Samantha at our 18th St. Store.

Wishtree beautifully written metaphor told from the point of view of Red, an oak tree who is many rings old. People come from all over to leave their wishes on cloth pieces tied to Red’s branches. Along with the animals that call Red home, Wishtree watches over the neighborhood.

When a new family moves in, Red is on a mission to bring the new girl some friends, even if that means breaking the only rule. As a result, comes a story about wishes, inclusion, friendship, and religious tolerance in a time of great strife in America. This book is a great tale for any age to see things from a new perspective and how our actions can make a difference.

A great gifts for fans of Hello, Universe, The Girl Who Drank the Moon, and Inside Out and Back Again.

An oak tree and a crow help their neighbors embrace their differences in this beautiful, nuanced middle-grade novel from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Katherine Applegate.

Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .

Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "wishtree"—people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "wishtree" watches over the neighborhood.

You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experiences as a wishtree are more important than ever.

Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced, this is Katherine Applegate at her very best—writing from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.

Related Products

Inside Out and Back Again
Price: From $8.99 to $16.99
Inside Out and Back Again
Inside Out and Back Again
Hello, Universe
Price: $16.99
Hello, Universe
Hello, Universe
The Girl Who Drank the Moon
Price: $16.95
The Girl Who Drank the Moon
The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill
Crenshaw
Price: From $7.99 to $16.99
Crenshaw
Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate
The One and Only Ivan
Price: From $8.99 to $16.99
The One and Only Ivan
The One and Only Ivan
Hurricane Child
Price: $17.99
Hurricane Child
Hurricane Child
The Doughnut Fix
Price: $16.99
The Doughnut Fix
The Doughnut Fix
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
Price: $16.99
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle
Tight
Price: $16.99
Tight
Tight
The Right Hook of Devin Velma
Price: $16.99
The Right Hook of Devin Velma
The Right Hook of Devin Velma
Wonder
Price: $16.99
Wonder
Wonder