A Darker Shade of Magic

<< Previous in Teen Next in Teen >>

Price: From $15.99 to $25.99
Manufacturer: Tor Books
Manufacturer Part No: 9780765376459
Author: V.E. Schwab
Series Order: 1

Product Options

Format:

Kell is one of the last Travelers—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes—as such, he can choose where he lands.

There's Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, with one mad king—George III. Red London, where life and magic are revered—and where Kell was raised alongside Rhys Maresh, the rougish heir to the throne. White London—a place where people fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. And once upon a time, there was Black London...but no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, amdassador of the Maresh empire, carrying the monthly correspondences between the royals of each London. Unofficially, he's a smuggler, a dangerous, defiant hobby to have—as proven when Kell stumbles into a setup with a forbidden token from Black London.

Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs afoul of Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations, who first robs him, then saves him from a dangerous enemy, and then forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.

But perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they'll first need to stay alive.

Staff pick from Bookseller Melanie at our 18th St. Store.

Kell wears a very peculiar coat (think one of those reversible jackets, but with infinite ways to flip it) and can walk between worlds. There’s Red London, White London, Grey London, and the sealed-off and destroyed Black London, But when a Grey London girl brings up a piece of Black London into Kell’s world, they must team up to save it before it meets Black London’s same fate.

This book is perfect for fans of magic, action, diverse casts, and historical fantasy fiction! Great for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Neil Gaiman.

Related Products

The Bane Chronicles
Price: From $14.99 to $22.99
The Bane Chronicles
The Bane Chronicles by Cassandra Clare Maureen Johnson and Sarah Rees Brennan
The Titan's Curse
Price: From $7.99 to $17.99
The Titan's Curse
The Titan's Curse
The Last Olympian
Price: From $7.99 to $17.99
The Last Olympian
The Last Olympian
Reign the Earth
Price: $17.99
Reign the Earth
Reign the Earth
Furyborn
Price: $18.99
Furyborn
Furyborn
Reflection
Price: $17.99
Reflection
Reflection: A Twisted Tale
The Queen of Attolia
Price: $9.99
The Queen of Attolia
The Queen of Attolia
A Curse So Dark and Lonely
Price: $18.99
A Curse So Dark and Lonely
A Curse So Dark and Lonely
A Whole New World
Price: From $9.99 to $17.99
A Whole New World
A Whole New World