A Darker Shade of Magic

<< Previous in Teen Next in Teen >>

Price: From $15.99 to $25.99
Manufacturer: Tor Books
Manufacturer Part No: 9780765376459
Signed by: V.E. Schwab
Author: V.E. Schwab
Series Order: 1

Product Options

Format:

Kell is one of the last Travelers—magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes—as such, he can choose where he lands.

There's Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, with one mad king—George III. Red London, where life and magic are revered—and where Kell was raised alongside Rhys Maresh, the rougish heir to the throne. White London—a place where people fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. And once upon a time, there was Black London...but no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, amdassador of the Maresh empire, carrying the monthly correspondences between the royals of each London. Unofficially, he's a smuggler, a dangerous, defiant hobby to have—as proven when Kell stumbles into a setup with a forbidden token from Black London.

Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs afoul of Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations, who first robs him, then saves him from a dangerous enemy, and then forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.

But perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they'll first need to stay alive.

Staff pick from Bookseller Melanie at our 18th St. Store.

Kell wears a very peculiar coat (think one of those reversible jackets, but with infinite ways to flip it) and can walk between worlds. There’s Red London, White London, Grey London, and the sealed-off and destroyed Black London, But when a Grey London girl brings up a piece of Black London into Kell’s world, they must team up to save it before it meets Black London’s same fate.

This book is perfect for fans of magic, action, diverse casts, and historical fantasy fiction! Great for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Neil Gaiman.

Related Products

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Price: From $14.99 to $34.99
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Tales of the Peculiar
Price: From $14.99 to $24.99
Tales of the Peculiar
Tales of the Peculiar Ransom Riggs
A Conjuring of Light
Price: From $16.99 to $25.99
A Conjuring of Light
A Conjuring of Light
Hollow City: The Graphic Novel
Price: $20.00
Hollow City: The Graphic Novel
Hollow City: The Graphic Novel
Batman: Nightwalker
Price: $18.99
Batman: Nightwalker
Batman: Nightwalker
Winter Glass
Price: $17.99
Winter Glass
Winter Glass
A Map of Days
Price: $22.99
A Map of Days
A Map of Days
Wires and Nerve: Gone Rogue
Price: $21.99
Wires and Nerve: Gone Rogue
Wires and Nerve: Gone Rogue
Throne of Glass (Collector's Edition)
Price: $35.00
Throne of Glass (Collector's Edition)
Throne of Glass (Collector's Edition)